Rice Lake Online | Rice Lake, WI

Home | Events Calendar | Sports | Education | Government | Subscribe | Business Links | Jobs | Community Links | Contact Us
Top StoriesObituariesFamily TiesPhotosClassifiedsPlace AdSubmitCouponsDisplay AdsSpecial SectionsExtras
Site Sponsors
 •  Norske Nook

Advanced Search
search sponsored by

Subscription Login

Top Stories
Family Ties
The Arts
• Education
Special Sections
Place Ad

home : education : education August 20, 2014


5/21/2014 1:08:00 PM
UW-Barron County students earn awards

Learning Innovation Prizes were recently awarded to UW-Barron County students who initiated highly engaging projects that went beyond typical classroom assignments.
Student projects nominated for the award included special collaborations between students and faculty, group projects, independent research projects, service-learning or civic engagement projects, and interdisciplinary projects. LIPPIE winners were announced at the final Thursdays @ at the U event on May 8 and the winners each gave a 5-7 minute synopsis of their project to the audience. All LIPPIE winners received a monetary stipend for their efforts.
LIPPIE winners are:
• Tyler Harrel of Shell Lake for his work in Literary Magazines and The Literature of Disaster in Japan and for his poetry writing at Cameron High School.
• Kodi Drinken of St. Croix Falls for her work in reading and research in Biology and for her work Common Mussels of the Red Cedar River.
• Jodi Kiffmeyer of Rice Lake for her work in Literature of Disaster in Japan and for fundraising for Tsunami Relief.
• Gabriella Ashlin, Mckenzy Suhr, Dean Schneider, and Sheila Keesen, all of Rice Lake; Emma Lee Raspotnik of Ashland; Josh Newman and Ryan Schoenborn, both of Osceola; Laura Bonnstetter of Woodville; and Jessica Golz of Centuria for their work in oil painting and for their project "Painted Past.
• Courtney DeLasky, Taylor Fankhauser and Amanda Nelson, all of Rice Lake; Brandon Kositzka, Anneliese Vaini and Levi Marquardt, all of Chetek; Josh Newman and Ryan Schoenborn, both of Osceola; and Evette Parenteau of Clayton for their work in three dimensional design and for their project Toadally Trashy;
• Alex Doe of Eau Claire; Bill Muench of Turtle Lake; Stacey Taylor and Liz Lee, both of Rice Lake; Jess Stensvold of Stone Lake; and Nikki King of Chetek for their work in Literature in Communities and for organizing the Northwest Wisconsin Writers' Festival.
• The Future Engineers of UW-Barron County members Ben Zabel, Rosie Rucinski, Lucas Dahl and Joe Brown, all of Rice Lake; Jacob Wald of Grantsburg; Duane Wahlstrom and Abram Linton, both of Chetek; and Devan Lihrman of Bruce for their outreach to members of the Barron County Boys & Girls Club.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.


Local Coupons
LifeENL SignupFacebookCommunity CalendarChronotype Advertising Rates
Powered by 72dpi

Copyright© Chronotype Publishing • 28 S. Main Street, Rice Lake, WI 54868 • 715 234-2121 • For news: newsroom@chronotype.com • For advertising: bdorrance@chronotype.com • For site admin.: publish1@chronotype.com
Software © 1998-2014 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved